×

ALA资源

如果你有问题,请通过发送电子邮件至 support@ala.edu 让我们知道。谢谢您!

工作时间

周一至周五 上午8:00 - 下午5:00
周六 - 上午9:00-12:00M
周日只接受预约!

忘了你的资料?

普通英语课程

普通英语课程 - ALA为需要使用英语与讲英语的人进行日常交流的英语学习者制定的课程。7个级别是。英语入门、初级、高级初级、低级中级、中级、高级中级和高级。该课程指导学生学习英语语法、英语会话、日常生活中的听和说技能,以及用于社交和就业的阅读和写作技能。在更高的级别,学生学会在更多样化和以工作为导向的情况下应用他们的知识和技能。当学生完成该课程时,他们已经准备好在特定的就业领域进行英语学习。

GEP级别1-英语入门

本课程欢迎刚接触英语的学生,并通过接触丰富的、有意义的语言,向他们介绍英语的最基本要素--字母及其相关的声音、书写字母的能力、基本的标点符号和大写字母,以及句子结构的基本知识。学生将发展从事日常生活中会遇到的非常基本的听和说任务的能力,如理解和回答有关他们的地址、国籍、婚姻状况、出生日期、以及日常日程安排和活动的问题。他们还将开始询问和回答有关天气、服装、食物偏好、膳食、价格、地点、交通方式、住房类型、疾病和药物类型以及健康习惯的问题。

学生将学习阅读和书写他们能够理解和说出的内容。这一阶段的教学重点是现在和学生的直接环境和需要。课堂活动包括结对互动、角色扮演以及涉及团队合作的简单问题解决活动。这四种语言技能以一种综合的方式进行教学,以反映其在社会和工作环境中的使用。学生学习功能性语言,以完成与他们日常生活相关的现实世界的任务。

GEP等级2-初级

在英语学习的第二个阶段,新来者通过接触现实世界背景下使用的丰富、有意义的语言,极大地扩大了他们的词汇量。学生们开始能够创造性地使用他们的新语言,不再仅仅依靠背诵的短语。学生们提高了他们使用词序和句子结构的基本知识和能力。学生学会创造自己的句子,使用简单现在时、现在进行时和祈使句的肯定和否定形式,并继续发展 "是 "和 "WH "的问句形式。随着形容词、频率副词、结构want to加不定式以及情态词can和should的加入,学生能够分享有关他们自己、他们的家庭关系以及他们生活中其他人的更多详细信息。

他们还能够在更广泛的情况下进行交易,并在购物、寻找住房和家具、与医生办公室和医院的保健人员打交道以及了解和利用社区提供的资源等方面更独立地发挥作用。学生将学会阅读和书写他们能够理解和说出的内容。他们可以发送电子邮件并独立填写简单的表格。这个级别的教学继续关注当下,关注学生眼前的环境和需求。课堂活动包括结对互动、角色扮演和涉及团队合作的简单问题解决活动。四种语言技能以一种综合的方式传授,反映了它们在社会和工作环境中的使用。学生学习功能性语言是为了完成与他们日常生活相关的现实世界的任务。

GEP等级3-高级初学

在英语学习的第三阶段,学生扩大了他们的词汇和语法知识,使他们能够理解和表达更详细、更详尽的信息。学生能够创造性地使用他们的新语言并构建他们自己的信息。他们很好地掌握了肯定和否定的词序,并能更好地使用问句结构。他们能够参与更多关于家庭和日常生活的扩展对话。学生还能够参与各种交易情况,找到他们所需要的信息,并独立互动,以便他们能够完成日常生活中的功能任务。学生学会阅读关于熟悉话题的相关论述,并写出他们能够理解和说出的内容。在课程结束时,他们能够填写各种表格和应用程序,并发送较长的个人电子邮件和书面信件。

他们学习与工作场所、工作技能和习惯有关的语言。这一层次的教学继续关注当下和学生眼前的环境和需求,但开始向过去和未来的经验发展。课堂活动包括配对互动、角色扮演,以及涉及团队工作的更复杂的解决问题的活动。四种语言技能以一种综合的方式传授,反映了它们在社会和工作环境中的应用。

一般教育计划 第4级--低中级

在英语学习的第四阶段,学生继续扩大他们的知识和能力,使用各种各样的词汇和语法,使他们能够比以前的水平更精确和详细地表达自己。这一阶段的教学重点不再是现在和学生眼前的环境和需求,而是他们对世界的过去、现在和未来的体验。学生现在可以详细谈论过去的经验和事件,为未来制定计划,讨论这些计划的障碍,并制定可能的解决方案。他们可以比较和对比图表、图形、图解和短文阅读中的信息,以便做出选择。他们可以作为平等的参与者参与有关日常生活的扩展对话,并开始使用他们的语言参与常见的交际功能,如感谢、道歉、邀请、同意和反对、提出建议和给出意见。学生学习参与更正式类型的口语互动所需的技能,如工作或大学面试,并在模拟中练习这些技能。

学生会接触到越来越复杂的口头和书面文本,并努力发展对真实的现实世界语言进行解释和反应的能力。他们开始制作更加正式、简短、实用的书面文本,如求职信或投诉。课堂活动继续包括结对互动、角色扮演和更多的模拟活动。这一阶段的问题解决活动涉及所有四种语言技能的使用、批判性思维和迫使学生相互依赖的拼图式组织。学生参加体验式学习活动,与以英语为母语的人进行互动。四种语言技能以一种综合的方式被教授,反映了它们在社会和工作环境中的使用。

GEP等级5-中级

在英语学习的第五阶段,学生们制定了有助于他们成为更加自主和独立的英语学习者的策略。他们学习如何通过参加课外活动来提高他们的英语学习水平,并保持学习者日志,以帮助他们跟踪这些活动。在课堂上,他们在阅读和聆听真实的现实世界的文章时,学习和练习从上下文中猜测单词含义的策略。其他学习和记忆新词汇的策略包括学习词族,以此来了解词汇之间的关系,并使用学习者字典。为了加深他们的阅读理解,学生们学习了阅读前预习的策略,在第一次阅读时阅读主要观点,并在第三次阅读时扫描具体信息。学生还学习并练习在阅读过程中和阅读后进行推理的策略(阅读字里行间)。在写作方面,学生继续练习填写越来越复杂的申请书,如贷款申请,写正式的商业信函,并提供必要的证明文件。此外,在这一阶段,学生开始学习如何写出有联系的书面话语,首先是有一个强有力的主题句、良好的支持句和最后的结论句的段落。学生还学习如何通过作为团队的一部分进行简短的口头陈述来产生有联系的口头话语。通过这种方式,他们开始了解如果他们决定进行中学后的学习,他们需要完成什么样的学术任务。

最后,在功能性生活技能方面,学生将熟悉美国生活的基本要素,如为未来制定目标,管理自己的时间和个人财务,申请信用卡和贷款以支付汽车、房屋或学费等重大采购,以及在自己的社区做志愿者以使其成为更好的生活场所。学生们学习和练习与这些主题有关的词汇,并熟悉语法结构,使他们能够思考和谈论假设的生活情况和事件。课堂活动继续包括结对互动、角色扮演和更多的模拟活动。这一层次的问题解决活动涉及所有四种语言技能的使用、批判性思维和迫使学生相互依赖的拼图式组织。学生参加体验式学习活动,与讲流利英语的人进行互动。四种语言技能以一种综合的方式被教授,反映了它们在社会和工作环境中的使用。

GEP 6级--中高级

在英语学习的第六阶段,学生将深入了解工作场所和工作与生活的联系。他们首先会被介绍到被雇用的过程,并将学习如何阅读招聘信息的策略,确定某些工作类别所需的技能和特点以及工作职责,进行求职,填写工作申请,撰写简历、电子邮件求职信和后续电子邮件,并准备工作面试。该课程接下来的重点是工作场所的行为,包括适当的行动,与主管和同事的适当沟通,做出道德决定,以及要求升职或加薪。学生们了解到由于工作条件或与工作有关的压力而可能出现的健康问题,在哪里和如何寻求帮助,以及如何申请健康和牙科保险。该课程还介绍了有关公民权利和责任的信息,如遵守法律、获得当地服务、解释选举程序以及与当地官员沟通。

学生将熟悉这些领域所使用的具体术语以及允许表达假设情况和更多抽象想法的语法结构。学生继续发展他们在上一课程中学到的策略,这些策略有助于促进他们对语言和书面文本的理解。此外,在这一阶段,学生通过学习引言、主体和结论,练习制作较长的多段文字,并使用相同的组织模式制作和展示较长的口头演讲,以个人演讲的形式。课堂活动继续包括结对互动、角色扮演和更多的模拟活动。这一层次的问题解决活动涉及所有四种语言技能的使用、批判性思维以及迫使学生相互依赖的拼图式组织。学生参加体验式学习活动,与讲流利英语的人进行互动。四种语言技能是以综合方式教授的,反映了它们在社会和工作环境中的应用。

GEP 7级-高级

普通英语课程的最后一门课程比以前的课程更注重内容,并为学生提供他们在社区、家庭、教育和工作中成功和舒适运作所需的各种信息。本课程涉及的一个关键领域是让学生发现自己的个人学习风格,并找到将这些学习风格与他们的职业和教育道路联系起来的方法。学生们学习各种建立和优先考虑目标的技巧,以及在努力实现这些目标时保持动力的方法。学生们还参加了关于工作-生活平衡的讨论,并学习保持这种平衡的策略。该课程涉及的另一个关键领域是个人财务,其中包括组织财务、减少债务和储蓄、确定良好的投资策略、保持良好的信用和保护自己免受身份盗窃的提示。第三个关键领域与工作场所以及创造高效和愉快氛围的想法有关。首先,学生了解到在工作中寻找和建立组织系统的各种方法,以提高工作场所的效率。学生们了解到他们的工作表现会被评估,可能要写进度报告,解释他们在不同时间点的成就,他们通过模拟练习这些情况。他们还被介绍了解决冲突的概念,以及在美国如何处理工作场所的冲突,并对这些类型的场景进行了角色扮演。最后一个关键领域涉及作为美国社会基础的民主价值观以及它们如何影响社区生活。学生研究和讨论宪法保障的权利和自由,移民和公民身份的途径,参与公民组织的好处,以及什么是政治和选举。

课程结束时,将讨论言论自由问题,并由学生发表个人意见演讲。由于该课程的大部分内容都与现实世界的问题有关,学生们将在课堂外花很多时间一起观察、讨论和评估他们所看到的东西。在课堂上,学生们学习他们在未来的培训项目或高级学习中可能需要的学术技能,他们在社区外聆听商业人士、地方官员、民间团体的讲座并研究更多信息时,也会练习这些学术技能。在课堂上,他们继续提高他们的英语功能能力,并回顾和练习他们在整个项目中获得的策略,这将有助于成为终身的英语学习者。

顶端

×

ALA resources

If you have problems, please let us know by sending an email to support@ala.edu. Thank you!

Hours of operation

Mon-Fri 8:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat - 9:00AM-12:00M
Sundays by appointment only!

General English Program

General English Program – ALA’s program for English learners who need to use English to interact with English speakers on an everyday basis. The 7 levels are: Introduction to English, Beginner, High Beginner, Low Intermediate, Intermediate, High Intermediate, and Advanced. The program instructs students in English grammar, English conversation, listening and speaking skills for daily life, and reading and writing skills for social and employment purposes. At the higher levels, students learn to apply their knowledge and skills in more diverse and work-oriented types of situations. When students complete the program, they are ready to pursue English study in a particular employment area.

GEP Level 1- Introduction to English

This course welcomes newcomers to the English language and introduces them to the most fundamental elements of English through exposure to rich, meaningful language—the letters of the alphabet and their related sounds, the ability to write the alphabet, basic punctuation and capitalization, and the basics of sentence structure. Students will develop the ability to engage in very basic listening and speaking tasks they will encounter in daily life, such as understanding and answering questions about their address, nationality, marital status, date of birth, and daily schedule and activities. They will also begin to ask and answer questions about the weather, clothing, food preferences, meals, prices, locations, means of transportation, types of housing, illnesses and types of medications and healthy habits.

Students will learn to read and write what they are able to comprehend and say. Instruction at this level focuses on the here-and-now and on students’ immediate surroundings and needs. Classroom activities include paired interactions, role-plays, and simple problem-solving activities involving team-work. The four language skills are taught in an integrated fashion that mirrors their use in social and work contexts. Students learn functional language in order to carry out real-world tasks relevant to their daily life.

GEP Level 2- Beginner

At the second level of their English study, newcomers expand their vocabulary dramatically through exposure to rich, meaningful language used in real world contexts. Students begin to be able to use their new language creatively and no longer have to rely only on memorized phrases. Students improve their knowledge and ability to use the basics of word order and sentence structure. Students learn to create their own sentences, using the simple present, present continuous, and imperative in their affirmative and negative forms and continue to develop both yes-no and WH interrogative forms. With the addition of adjectives, adverbs of frequency, the structure want to plus infinitive, and the modals can and should, students are able to share more detailed information about themselves, their family relationships, and other people in their lives.

They are also able to engage in transactions in a wider range of situations and function more independently in the areas of shopping, finding housing and furnishings, dealing with health care personnel in doctor’s offices and the hospital, and finding out about and taking advantage of the resources offered in their community. Students will learn to read and write what they are able to comprehend and say. They can send an email and fill out simple forms independently. Instruction at this level continues to focus on the here-and-now and on students’ immediate surroundings and needs. Classroom activities include paired interactions, role-plays, and simple problem-solving activities involving team-work. The four language skills are taught in an integrated fashion that mirrors their use in social and work contexts. Students learn functional language in order to carry out real-world tasks relevant to their daily life.

GEP Level 3- High Beginner

At the third level of their English study, students expand their vocabulary and grammatical knowledge in ways that allow them to comprehend and express more detailed, elaborated messages. Students are able to use their new language creatively and construct their own messages. They have a good grasp of affirmative and negative word order and a better ability to use interrogative structures. They are able to participate in more extended conversations about their family and their daily lives. Students are also able to engage in a wide variety of transactional situations, find the information they need, and interact independently so they can carry out the functional tasks of everyday life. Students learn to read connected discourse on familiar topics and write what they are able to comprehend and say. By the end of the course they are able to fill out a variety of forms and applications and send longer, personal email and written letters.

They learn language related to the work place and job skills and habits. Instruction at this level continues to focus on the here-and-now and on students’ immediate surroundings and needs but begins to move toward past and future experiences. Classroom activities include paired interactions, role-plays, and more complex problem-solving activities involving team-work. The four language skills are taught in an integrated fashion that mirrors their use in social and work contexts.

GEP Level 4- Low Intermediate

At the fourth level of their English study, students continue to expand their knowledge and ability to use a wide variety of vocabulary and grammar so that they can express themselves with more precision and elaboration than at previous levels. Instruction at this level no longer focuses on the here-and-now and on students’ immediate surroundings and needs, but on their past, present, and future experience of the world. Students can now speak at length about past experiences and events, make plans for the future, discuss obstacles to these plans, and develop possible solutions. They can compare and contrast information presented in charts, graphs, diagrams and short readings in order to make choices. They can participate in extended conversations about their daily lives as equal participants and begin to use their language to engage in common communicative functions, such as thanking, apologizing, inviting, agreeing and disagreeing, making suggestions, and giving advice. Students learn the skills necessary for participating in more formal types of oral interactions, such as a job or college interview and practice these skills during simulations.

Students are exposed to oral and written texts of increasing complexity and work on developing the ability to interpret and react to authentic real- world language. They begin to produce more formal, short, functional written texts, such as a cover letter or complaint. Classroom activities continue to include paired interactions, role-plays and more involved simulations. Problem-solving activities at this level involve the use of all four language skills, critical thinking, and a jigsaw organization which forces students to rely on each other. Students take part in experiential learning activities which involve them in interactions with native English speakers. The four language skills are taught in an integrated fashion that mirrors their use in social and work contexts.

GEP Level 5- Intermediate

At the fifth level of their English study, students develop strategies that will help them become more self-directed and independent English learners. They learn ways to improve their English language learning by participating in out-of-class activities and they keep learner logs which help them track those activities. In the classroom, they learn and practice strategies for guessing word meaning from context while reading and listening to authentic real-world texts. Other strategies for learning and remembering new vocabulary involve learning word families as a way of seeing the relationships between words and using a learner’s dictionary. To deepen their reading comprehension, students learn the strategies of previewing before reading, reading for main ideas during their first reading, and scanning for specific information during their third reading. Students also learn and practice the strategy of making inferences (reading between the lines) during and after reading. In writing, students continue to practice filling out increasingly complex applications, such as applications for loans, writing formal business letters, and providing the necessary supporting documents. In addition, at this level, students begin to learn how to produce connected written discourse, starting with paragraphs that have a strong topic sentence, good supporting sentences and a final conclusion sentence. Students also learn how to produce connected oral discourse by giving short oral presentations as part of a team. In this way, they begin their introduction to the kinds of academic tasks they will need to perform if they decide to pursue postsecondary study.

Finally, in the area of functional life skills, student will become familiar with basic elements of American life, such as making goals for the future, managing one’s time and personal finances, applying for credit cards and loans in order to pay for major purchases such as a car, a house, or tuition, and volunteering in one’s community to make it a better place to live. Students learn and practice the vocabulary related to these topics and become familiar with grammatical structures that allow them to think and talk about hypothetical life situations and events. Classroom activities continue to include paired interactions, role-plays and more involved simulations. Problem-solving activities at this level involve the use of all four language skills, critical thinking, and a jigsaw organization which forces students to rely on each other. Students take part in experiential learning activities which involve them in interactions with fluent English speakers. The four language skills are taught in an integrated fashion that mirrors their use in social and work contexts.

GEP Level 6- High Intermediate

At the sixth level of their English study, students receive an in-depth introduction to the work place and to work-life connections. They will first be introduced to the process of getting hired, and will learn strategies for how to read job postings, identify the skills and characteristics needed for certain job categories and the job responsibilities, conduct a job search, fill-out a job application, write a resume, an e-mail cover letter and follow-up e-mails, and prepare for a job interview. The course focuses next on workplace behavior, including appropriate actions, appropriate communication with supervisors and fellow employees, making ethical decisions, and asking for a promotion or a salary increase. Students learn about health issues that may arise because of work conditions or work-related stress, where and how to seek help, and how to apply for health and dental insurance coverage. The course also presents information about civic rights and responsibilities, such as following the law, accessing local services, interpreting the electoral process, and communicating with local officials.

Students become familiar with the specific terminology used in these areas and the grammatical structures which permit the expression of hypothetical situations and more abstract ideas. Students continue to develop the strategies they learned in the previous course which help to facilitate their comprehension of speech and written texts. In addition, at this level, students practice producing longer multi-paragraph written texts by learning about the introduction, body, and conclusion, and they use the same pattern of organization to produce and present longer oral presentations, in the form of individual speeches. Classroom activities continue to include paired interactions, role-plays and more involved simulations. Problem-solving activities at this level involve the use of all four language skills, critical thinking, and a jigsaw organization which forces students to rely on each other. Students take part in experiential learning activities which involve them in interactions with fluent English speakers. The four language skills are taught in an integrated fashion that mirrors their use in social and work contexts.

GEP Level 7- Advanced

The final course of the General English Program is more content-based than previous courses and provides students with the kinds of information they will need in order to function successfully and comfortably in the worlds of community, home, education, and work. One of the key areas addressed in this course involves students in discovering their individual learning styles and finding ways to connect these learning styles to their career and educational paths. Students learn various techniques for establishing and prioritizing goals and ways to stay motivated while working towards those goals. Students also participate in discussions about work –life balance and learn strategies for maintaining this balance. Another key area addressed in the course is personal finance, which involves tips on organizing finances, reducing debt and saving money, identifying good investment strategies, maintaining good credit and protecting themselves against identity theft. The third key area relates to the workplace and ideas for creating an efficient and pleasant atmosphere. First, students learn about various ways of finding and setting up organizational systems at work to increase workplace efficiency. Students learn they will have their work performance evaluated and may have to write progress reports explaining what they have accomplished at various points in time, and they practice these situations through simulations. They are also introduced to the concept of conflict resolution and how conflicts in the workplace are handled in the United States and role-play these types of scenarios. The final key area addresses the democratic values which underlie American society and how they affect community life. Students study and discuss the rights and freedoms guaranteed by the Constitution, pathways to immigration and citizenship, the benefits of involvement with civic organizations, and what politics and elections are.

The course ends with a discussion of freedom of speech and student presentations of individual opinion speeches. Because so much of the content of the course is concerned with real-world issues, the students will spend much of their class time together outside the classroom, observing, discussing, and evaluating what they have seen. In the classroom, students learn academic skills they might need during future training programs or advanced study and they practice those academic skills while they are out in the community listening to talks by business people, local officials, civic groups and researching additional information. In the classroom, they continue to improve their functional abilities in English and review and practice the strategies they have acquired throughout the program that will help be life-long learners of English.

TOP