×

ALA资源

如果你有问题,请通过发送电子邮件至 support@ala.edu 让我们知道。谢谢您!

工作时间

周一至周五 上午8:00 - 下午5:00
周六 - 上午9:00-12:00M
周日只接受预约!

忘了你的资料?

关于项目

学术英语课程(EAP)相当于强化英语课程(IEP),授课时间较长。EAP旨在为英语学习者提供最好的学习经验和支持,以满足他们在学术或专业方面的需求。该课程是为那些无法致力于全日制英语学习的英语学习者而设立的。

EAP专门为希望进入美国大学或学院学习本科和研究生课程的学生提供英语教学。ALA学术英语课程的毕业证书保证了学生拥有在大学阶段取得成功所需的英语语言技能。

我们的EAP课程让你可以灵活地将你的其他义务与高质量的学术和专业英语课程相结合。如果你是一个工作的成年人,一个在英语之外的其他领域学习的英语学习者,或者是一个有小孩的母亲,这就是适合你的课程!

EAP概述

  • 教学方法。校内或网上
  • 先决条件:iTEP分级测试
  • 级别分类。简介,基础,学术,高级学术
  • 预计。完成日期:计划开始后的24-36个月
  • EAP毕业证书。豁免托福、雅思或其他标准化的英语测试成绩给我们的合作院校。
  • EAP-11每级学时:18周(每级部分9周)/每周11小时
  • 计划完成要求。完成第5B级
  • EAP-11的总单元数:12级(单元)。
  • 入学。整个会议期间公开招生
  • 课程安排。上午、下午或晚上均可上课

 

英语入门A-B

本课程满足那些很少或没有接受过英语语言培训的英语学习者的需要。在这个课程中,你将接受对英语字母及其发音以及基本词汇和语法的全面介绍。在课堂上,你将专注于学习你所处的新文化以及如何在其中生存。

你在课堂上练习的语言技能将帮助你开展你每天在美国真实世界中需要做的所有活动。你将与其他学生进行对话和做角色扮演,并在团队中解决简单的问题。在课程结束时,你将能够阅读、理解和填写调查问卷和表格;你将能够在商店和办公室提出简单的问题,并理解人们给你的答案。你将能够回答他们问你的问题。你还会有第一次参加类似大学考试和做家庭作业的经历!

1A-B级,2A-B级,3A-B级

在这些级别的课程中,你将努力使自己能够流利地使用日常社交英语。你将发展你的听、说、读、写技能,因为它们在现实世界中被使用。你将能够参与有关你的家人和朋友、教育背景、工作经验、日常事务、爱好和兴趣的英语对话。你将能够阅读和谈论虚构和非虚构的短篇书籍。你将能够理解和讨论简短的新闻和娱乐节目,并能用英语写出所有这些话题。

在课堂上,你将参与伙伴和小组活动,练习现实生活中的语言。你将参与对话、角色扮演,以及更长、更复杂的日常情况模拟。你将参加团队解决问题的活动,这些活动需要使用所有四种语言技能以及批判性思维技能,并迫使你依赖团队中的其他成员。在课堂上练习之后,你将走到社区,利用你的技能观察和采访人们并参与他们的项目。最后,你会把你学到的东西带回来,与ALA的其他学生分享。

在这些级别中,你将开始学习和练习你在完成英语语言学习后将从事的各种学术和专业工作。第三级是连接社会语言和学术及专业语言的桥梁。在这个级别,你将继续提高你的日常社交英语,并开始将你的所有语言技能应用于学术和工作的场合。你将开始学习如何在大学课堂讲座或专业工作会议等情况下倾听、理解并做笔记。你将开始学习如何撰写学术论文或工作报告。你将开始阅读有关学术主题和工作场所问题的更复杂的短文,你将学习如何组织并向大伙儿口头介绍这些主题。在第三级结束时,你将准备好开始我们的学术英语课程。

4A-B级和5A-B级

这些课程使你为进入美国大学学习或开始在美国的专业工作任务做好准备。它们侧重于为你提供所需的语言,以参与涉及更抽象的主题和概念的情况,并要求你在越来越复杂的水平上理解和制作英语。它们还让你有机会参与基于批判性思维和研究技能的活动,这对在美国学术和职业生活中取得成功至关重要。

在四级课堂上,你将聆听来自一系列学术和专业领域的复杂学术讲座。你将学习基本的研究技能,撰写2-3页的研究报告,并发表基于研究的口头报告。你将在课堂上讨论和辩论有争议的问题,并阅读描述相关类型问题的小说和非小说文本。

在第5级,你将从学习和练习第4级技能转变为在现实世界中实际使用它们。你将参加体验式学习活动,这将使你与政府、司法、教育机构和社区组织的成员接触。你将参与研究一个真正的问题,并试图找到解决方案。你将进行并写出你自己的研究,并以不同的方式向不同的听众进行报告。在这个级别结束时,你将能够与教授、同学和专业同事进行舒适的互动,并以文化上正确的方式开展学术和专业工作。现在,你已经准备好在美国开始你的学术或职业生活。

顶端

×

ALA resources

If you have problems, please let us know by sending an email to support@ala.edu. Thank you!

Hours of operation

Mon-Fri 8:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat - 9:00AM-12:00M
Sundays by appointment only!

FORGOT YOUR DETAILS?

About Program

The English for Academic Purposes Program (EAP) is the equivalent of Intensive English Program (IEP) given over a longer period of time. EAP is designed to offer the best learning experiences and support to English learners to meet their needs for their academic or professional purposes. This program was created for English learners who are unable to commit to a full-time program of English language study.

The EAP specializes in providing English language instruction for students who wish to attend an American university or college for their undergraduate and graduate studies. The ALA English for Academic Purposes Program graduation certificate assures that students possess the English language skills necessary to succeed at the university level.

Our EAP program gives you the flexibility of combining your other obligations with high-quality courses in academic and professional English. If you are a working adult, an English learner studying in another field beside English, or a mother with small children, this is the program for you!

EAP Overview

  • Method of Instruction: On Campus or Online
  • Prerequisites: iTEP Placement Test
  • Level Categories: Introduction, Foundation, Academic, Advanced Academic
  • Est. Completion Date: 24-36 months from the start of the program
  • EAP Graduation Certificate: Waives TOEFL, IELTS, or other standardized English test scores to our partner institutions
  • EAP-11 Duration per Level: 18 weeks (9 weeks per level section)/11 hours per week
  • Program Completion Requirements: Completion of Level 5B
  • Total number of units in EAP-11: 12 levels (units)
  • Enrollment: Open enrollment throughout the session
  • Course Schedule: Morning, Afternoon, or Evening hours available

 

Introduction to English A-B

This course meets the needs of English learners who have little or no English language training. In this course, you will receive a thorough introduction to the English alphabet and its sounds as well as its basic vocabulary and grammar. In the classroom you will focus on learning about the new culture you are in and how to survive in it.

The language skills you practice in class will help you carry out all the activities you need to do in the real world of the U.S. every day. You’ll be having conversations and doing role-plays with other students and solving simple problems on a team. By the end of the course, you’ll be able to read, understand, and fill out questionnaires and forms; you’ll be able to ask simple questions in shops and offices and understand the answers people give you. You’ll be able to answer the questions they ask you. You’ll also have your first experiences taking tests that look like university tests and doing homework!

Levels 1A-B, 2A-B, 3A-B

During your courses at these levels you will work towards becoming fluent in everyday social English. You will develop your listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills as they are used in the real world. You’ll be able to participate in English conversations about your family and friends, educational background, work experience, daily routines, hobbies, and interests. You’ll be able to read and talk about short books of fiction and nonfiction. You’ll be able to understand and discuss short news and entertainment programs and write about all these topics in English.

In the classroom you’ll be involved in partner and group activities to practice real-life language. You’ll participate in conversations, role- plays, and longer, more complicated simulations of everyday situations. You’ll be part of team problem-solving activities which require the use of all four language skills as well as critical thinking skills and which force you to depend on the other members of your team. After your practice in the classroom, you’ll go out into the community and use your skills to observe and interview people and participate in their projects. Finally, you’ll bring back what you’ve learned and share it with other students at ALA.

Throughout these levels you will begin to learn about and practice the kinds of academic and professional work you will be doing when you finish your English language learning. Level 3 is the bridge which connects social language to academic and professional language. At this level you will continue to improve your everyday social English and begin to apply all your language skills to academic and work-like situations. You will start to learn how to listen to, understand, and take notes during situations like a university classroom lecture or a professional work meeting. You’ll start learning how to write an academic paper or a report for work. You’ll start reading more complicated short articles about academic subjects and workplace issues and you’ll learn how to organize and give oral presentations about these topics to a large group. By the end of Level 3, you’ll be ready to start our Academic English courses.

Levels 4A-B & 5A-B

These are the courses that get you ready to attend an American university or begin a professional work assignment in the U.S. They focus on giving you the language you need to participate in situations involving more abstract topics and concepts and which require you to understand and produce English at increasingly complex levels. They also give you opportunities to participate in activities based on the kinds of critical thinking and research skills that are crucial for success in American academic and professional life.

In your Level 4 classroom you’ll be listening to complex academic lectures from a range of academic and professional fields. You’ll be learning basic research skills, writing 2-3 page research reports, and delivering research-based oral presentations. You’ll discuss and debate controversial issues in class and read fiction and nonfiction texts which describe related kinds of issues.

At Level 5 you’ll move from learning and practicing Level 4 skills to actually using them in the real world. You’ll participate in experiential learning activities which will bring you into contact with members of governmental, judicial, and educational institutions and community organizations. You’ll be involved in studying a real problem and trying to find solutions for it. You’ll conduct and write up your own research, which you’ll report on in different ways to different audiences. By the end of this level, you’ll be able to interact comfortably with professors, fellow students, and professional colleagues and carry out academic and professional work in culturally correct ways. Now, you are ready to start your academic or professional life in the U.S.

TOP